Imagination Is Everything

Doon ARt floating buddah

The following is an excerpt from my  May 2013, Art of Life column, entitled “Success is Imagined First”

We can create whatever we imagine in our minds.  If you are experiencing lack or failure in your life it is because it was first imagined in your mind.  Albert Einstein said, “Imagination is everything.  It is the preview of life’s coming attractions.”  Imaging or visualizing what you want can have almost magical powers. French Dr. Emile Coué asserts that when the imagination and will are in conflict, the imagination always wins out.

We are constantly creating our futures through visualization, as the mind thinks in mental images. For example,  if you are thinking about, talking about and imagining financial lack (I.e. I am unlucky, I could never have that, I’m  and so on), then that is what your mind will produce for you. When a mental picture is repeated the mind has no choice but to accept it as true and bring it into reality.

The reality is that your imagination can be your best friend or your worst enemy.  It is how you imagine and what you focus on that affects your brain and therefore your expectations. When you learn to harness your imagination, your imagination becomes your best friend.  Then you can use your imagination instead of allowing your imagination to propel you.  It is only when you proactively focus your imagination to achieve specific outcomes that you ignite the creative process and increase your odds of success.

Take a moment and consider where and how you apply your imagination — mentally, physically, spiritually, emotionally and socially.  The first step to understand and applying your imagination is to become mindful of how you imagine.

Enjoy

*

 

One thought on “Imagination Is Everything”

  1. This idea is brilliant and imagination is such a drug for me! I constantly hear the question “How did you come up with that?” It is hard to explain how my imagination works. I am going to tell a secret…I have lived in mania by bipolar for many years and learned in reading many books that my branch out mental situation was fueling my imagination. I write a lot and read very fast… what are your secrets? One artist to another would be fun if you want to keep in contact… my name is heather to formally intro myself… take care and chat with you soon!

Leave a Reply

