Ahhh life …

Ahhhh life ….

So much has happened since my last post (which is why I have been MIA).

I would say this flyer started it all, but that would not be totally accurate.  This flyer contributed to my job and two paying clients.  A new friend of mine told me she wanted to do an all day event for Black women’s health. I believed in the cause and I believed in her.  (The event was better than we anticipated and that’s another post).  I worked with an amazing group of women who inspired me to create this flyer.

I have a new job. No this does not go against my path less traveled outlook.  I have been highered as a Graphic Designer for the Urban League of Greater Madison.  Graphic Designer is a new path, it’s part-time, pays ok and I love it.  This leaves me with time to still work my own business (which is growing). Oh yeah, the flyer helped (in small part) me get there.

I had the honor of taking wedding photos of a wonderful, full of life & love couple, Tonya Ellis & Harvey Tharpe, this summer.  In September, two of those photos were used in two local magazines, and elements from photos taken are on the UMOJA cover that follows. (Working smarter not harder).  The first photo is from the September 2012 issue of Brava magazine, (I’m on page 78) whose focus is the Madison woman.  The second is from the September 2012 issue of UMOJA magazine who markets to the local African-American community.

jdfj

WOW another cover for UMOJA magazine.  This time I had the opportunity to design the cover for the topic  — Weddings.  (see below)

I realized I really enjoy working on projects that I too belive in.  This past September I had the pleasure of creating the program cover for Rhumba for Ranibow benefit. It bills itself as the largest Salsa competion in Madison. I have always had a great time and this year was no different (except for the fact that I did the cover & a number of slides).

All proceeds go to The Rainbow Project which seeks to end Domestice Violence and Child Abuse.

 

 

 

 

I am enjoying my many new opportunities, which I realize are too many for one post. Sooooooo …. I’ll see you tomorrow.

*

One thought on “Ahhh life …”

  1. Dear Donna:   I love it! Congratulations on the Urban League position…it sounds very exciting! It sounds as though you are moving surely along your path.   Best always! Pat

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

