Weekend Wonderful

I had an action-packed weekend.  Friday evening I attended the Rhumba for Rainbow event.  It was fun to watch local celebrities in a salsa dance-off contest and to watch professional ballroom latin dance.  The silent auction was replete with a varitety of donations, including mine.  I am always proud and humbled by seeing my art on display.  I just wish I had remembered to take photos.    LOL

Saturday, I particpated in the Artful Women of Color event, including an art fair, lunch with the artists, women of color recognition and one scholarship was awarded.   90% of the art works were handmade. I took pleasure in going to each table to see the ware and  speaking with the other women who own businesses similar to mine was enoyable and enlightening.  Today’s photos are from this event.  Enjoy

Aryll Pullum is the owner of Ostra Designs. She provides many services but what I remember most are the sense appealing, delectable cake bites.

Crystal Tourtillott, was the provided us Native American beaded jewelry and a brief history of this art.

 Linda Metoxen. Linda and her three lovely daughters –who are also artists (see their work below).  She forge & shapes silver in jewelry into beautiful jewelry and other goodies. Contact muddybearclan@hotmail.com

P. Emraida Kiram, regaled us with the history of her business and timeless, unique Crochet items. For example, see the US flag she crocheted below.

Kathryn Simmons, Kay makes gorgeous quilts that look like art.   Contact kaymariesturn@sbcglobal.net

Phyllis Sanders, owner of Phyllis Faces & Ceramics.  Provided us with the most beautiful & unique slumped wine bottles that can be used for so many things & I feel in love with her serving dishes.

Wanda Tapp, Designer of winsome cards, bookmarks & graphic wall hangings.

Janice Sukkert owner of JBS Jewels. Provided us with what she calls “simple, statement pieces” that I just call stunning. Some of the  jewelry handbeaded & some imported from Phillipines.

Maria DeMoya, Quilt Artist.  Her quilts were intricate and stunning. Contact her at demoya@charter.net

Patricia Castaneda Tucker, Ceramics. The large vase, below, was handmade & the smaller items were done on the wheel. I so admire this craft and her designs

Margie Bruce, Author  of The Heart of Halsey; Potrait of a Young Woman; and A String of Pearls.

The necklace shown that displays an original tree of life design was worn and made by one of the participants who should/will be a vendor next year.  (I am so sorry I could not find your name, but leave me a message & I will update my site)

Antonia Garcia Breitweiser, owner of Garcia & Haus Design.  The Graphic Designer (& Artist) who pulled together the multi-cultural banners for the Hues newspaper.

During part of the day we were serenaded by Harp music.

Finally, here are some of the Doon Art wares that I made available.

Leave a Reply

