Ask Yourself

Questions that you can ask yourself that will lead to self discovery that in turn lead to self improvement.  Think of them as food for the mind.

  •  If you could do anything, be anyone would you be doing, living like you are living now?
  • What would your message be if you had the opportunity to get a message across to a large group of people?
  • Considering that there is never a perfect time to act, if not now, when?
  • Do you need to let go of a person, experience or situation?
  • Have you done anything recently that is worth remembering?
  • Have you said more than you have done?
  • If you could know what you know now, what would you tell your 20 year younger self?
  • Would you speak to a friend the way you speak to your self?  How long would you be that person’s friend?
  • What’s most important to you time or money?
  • Do I make a difference?
  • What did you do today that made you appreciate yourself?
  • What can I do today to change my future?
3 thoughts on “Ask Yourself”

  1. I loved your blog first and foremost! I’ll tell you when I first began to truly understand love, it was when a relationship I thought God had created me exclusively for was ending. The fairytale no longer fit that description, it was more like a nightmare! I’d met a gentleman long distance. He lived in New York and I lived in New Orleans. Prior to him, I’d met guys I thought I could love, but in hindsight I realize I was trying to compensate for a lot of emotional pain. I’d been molested. I blamed my mom for years because the man who molested me was someone she dated and eventually moved in with us. After being abused for at while, I grew up with a major attitude and chip on my shoulder. But that did not stop me from attracting toxic relationships I wanted desperately to be love. That is until I met my knight in shining armor from New York. This man showered me with gifts, trips, attention and affection. I thought I was the luckiest woman alive. I felt blessed to have someone like him. He seem to understand me. He encouraged me to take life seriously, to save money, to take care of my body/health, things other men never took the time to do, so I thought. Long distance, it was a beautiful love affair. When I moved to New York, it was another story. We managed to date 6 years before I relocated, but we did not last 6 months under the same roof. He was living a double life. He cheated on me, he was abusing drugs behind my back, he started verbally abusing me, mentally manipulating me,and the like. Long story short, I found myself in New York with no one, but God! It turns out my ex was a vessel God used to position me away from what was comfortable and familiar so I could discover what love really was. How to give it and how to receive it. In the midst of my heartache and pain, is when I realized my ex and I were not going to live happily ever after. God spoke to me and asked me if I loved myself. I said yes immediately because its politically correct. Who doesn’t love themselves? I realized after some soul searching I really didn’t because I’d made choices in the name of love that wasn’t really love at all. When I began going through the pages of my life it became clear that love begins within, with self. Its not selfish by any means. It does however heighten the vibrations for pure, unconditional love to enter into one’s life. It was then that I began to truly understand love. Today, I am married to a man and we’ve had similar experiences that has brought us to the same conclusion about loving self first, completely and effectively loving others. Thank you for this blog and the opportunity to share an important life lesson.

    1. WOW. I am honored that you felt comfortable enough to share that story. I are blessed to have found someone who believes as you do. Please come back and comments are always appreciated. Donna

Leave a Reply

